Mauritania , Burkina Faso , Bénin , Côte d'Ivoire , Guinée , Guinée-Bissau , Mali , Niger , Rwanda , Sénégal , Togo

Identification of MDP projects and elaboration of pre-PIF for the UNDP and the GEF

EXPERTISE : /Facilitation of project implementation, Financing Mechanisms and Fund Management
SECTOR : , Public


IEPF Institut de l’énergie et de l’environnement de la Francophonie



In the framework of the Initiative francophone de partenariat pour le Mécanisme de Développement propre (IFP-MDP), the IEPF has provided member countries with assistance since 2005 by reinforcing their institutional and technical capabilities. For 2008, the IEPF decided to support managers of MDP projects in four member countries (Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Niger, Rwanda) by helping them prepare their project idea notes and descriptive documents.

The IEPF also decided to help West African countries secure funding from the Global Environment Facility (GEF) to heighten coherence, promote synergy and create a large impact.  In order to prepare the countries’ project ideas, the IEPF is offering, with the help of GEF agencies and key partners/experts, to support the GEF’s focal points in elaborating project identification sheets (Pre-PIF) to submit to the GEF’s CEO.

The IEPF retained Econoler’s services to help carry out these two activities.


Econoler’s mandate involved:
  •  Identifying three to four MDP projects per target country, preparing and submitting an information sheet that contains the data the UNDP needs to classify the projects.
  •  Developing at least three project sheets per country whose goals are in line with the GEF’s strategy with regard to climate change and promoting access to energy in West Africa.
This mandate helped draw a list of projects and present the sheets on the MPD projects established for each member country (Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Niger, Rwanda). Moreover, three project identification sheets for submittal to the GEF were finalized by French-speaking West African nations (Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and Togo).
Return to search